

Torch Club of Columbus

Board of Directors Meeting Summary Thursday, April 7, 2022 Location: OSU Faculty Club

Torch Club Board Members 2021-2022

TITLE	NAME	Present (Y)
		or Absent (N)
President	Nancy Wardwell	Υ
.President-Elect	Susan Tilgner	Υ
Past President (Nominating)	Susan Warrener Smith	Υ
Secretary	Thom Seelbach	Υ
Assistant Secretary (Fellowship)	Diane Selby	Υ
Treasurer	Howard Gauthier	N
Assistant Treasurer	David Lenz	Υ
Newsletter Editor	Steve Sterrett	Υ
Region V Director	Violet Meek	N
Director-at-Large (Membership)	Dorothy Driskell	Υ
Director-at-Large	Paul Niswander	Υ
Director-at-Large (Website Editor)	Rai Goerler	Υ
Director-at-Large	Christina Atzberger	Υ

The meeting was called to order by Nancy Wardwell at 4:30 pm.

The minutes of the March 3, 2022, meeting as previously circulated were approved with a motion from Dorothy Driskell and seconded by Susan Smith.

Secretary Report

Thom Seelbach shared that the attendance number for the evening is 44. He was concerned that several members had not responded so he called them and

shared with the Board that one had moved from the state and the others were either vacationing or had conflicts this evening.

Treasurer's Report

Howard Gauthier was not present so Assistant treasurer David Lenz discussed the status of the treasury. We are solvent with revenue exceeding expenses. He is working on projection of a budget for next year based on a paid membership of 70. Costs for meals has not been established for the coming year yet.

Nomination Committee Report

Susan Smith presented the proposed slate of members of the Torch Board of Directors for 2022-2023:

Past President Nancy Wardwell (term ends 2023)
President Susan Tilgner (term ends 2023)
President Elect Rai Goerler (term ends 2023)

Secretary Thom Seelbach
Treasurer David Lenz
Assistant Secretary Diane Selby
Newsletter Editor Steve Sterrett
Region 5 Director Violet Meek

Director-at-large Dorothy Driskell (2023)
Director-at-large Paul Niswander (2023)
Director-at-large Christina Atzbrger (2024)
Director-at-large David Hansen (2024)

Susan mentioned that there will not be need for an assistant treasurer this next year. Since that position serves at the desire of the Board it can be added if found necessary. The only positions that are elected by the membership are the President and President Elect. This proposed slate will appear in the next newsletter for a vote at the May membership meeting. Susan Tilgner moved that the Board approve the proposed slate and motion was seconded by Christina Atzberger. Motion approved.

Fellowship Report

David Lenz will be our Member's Moment at tonight's meeting being presented by his wife Betty Lenz. Special cards or notes have been sent by committee members for thinking of you and get well wishes. Several committee members have been generous in providing rides to members who requested them. The committee will consider contacting our many inactive members this year to see that they know they are welcome to attend our May and added June meetings and that we hope to see them again next season. The Board confirmed that if they wish to attend a meeting, the meal cost will be \$30.

<u>Membership</u>

Dorothy Driskell reported that there are no new members this month. She announced wonderful news of her upcoming marriage to Gary Hinzman this May. Congratulations were offered to both.

Newsletter

Steve Sterrett said that he had a spelling correction to report – Proper spelling of the name of cartoonist Charles Schulz – no "t" in his name although we have been consistent in spelling incorrectly in our various printed references. Since he is the topic of our May program, we all noted the correction with appreciation! He will prepare his always fine newsletter to promote our programs, honor our members, and announce the slate for the coming year.

Website

Rai Goerler reported there were 39 visits to the website in March. He announced that the program presented in March is now posted on our website, and that we should view it to see how it is working out. Discussion followed about regulations regarding materials from speakers and it was pointed out that each speaker is asked about this before posting.

District V and IATC Reports

Violet Meek was absent and there was no report to share currently.

Old Business

IATC History Project

Rai Goerler reported as chair of this project locally to record the last 50 years of IATC history. He mentioned that there was a meeting today with the central committee who is still in the process of determining the scope and procedures for the project. Rai will have more information as it unfolds. OSU Archives is the home for much of the major research to be done.

New Business

IATC Conference Attendance

The Board discussed the upcoming Annual Convention for the IATC. As in years past, IATC is providing \$300 to every club to send delegates to the convention. Our Board has typically subsidized up to 3 members to attend the conference for \$1,200, for a total of \$1,500 available to send Columbus delegates. IATC allows 1 vote per club at the annual convention, and Board members discussed that it is not clear how we appoint the voting delegate. It was agreed that this should be included in our bylaws when we update them next year. For 2022, there are 5 members attending the conference: President (Nancy Wardwell), IATC Board Members (Rich Davis and Dorothy Driskell), Region 5 Representative (Violet Meek), and Board Secretary (Thom Seelbach). A motion was made by Susan Tilgner and seconded by Steve Sterrett to split \$1,500 equally among those attending (\$300 each) for travel expenses to the conference, and to appoint the President or her designee, as the voting member at the conference. The motion carried.

The meeting adjourned at 5:36 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Diane Selby and Susan Tilgner