Torch Club of Columbus

Board of Directors Meeting Minutes February 1, 2024 Location: OSU Faculty Club

Torch Club Board Members 2023-2024

TITLE	NAME	PRESENT (Y) or ABSENT (N)
President	Rai Goerler	Υ
President-Elect	Don Larson	Υ
Past President (Nominating)	Susan Tilgner	Υ
Secretary	Thom Seelbach	Υ
Fellowship – Recording Secretary Diane Selby		Υ
Treasurer	Dave Lenz	Υ
Newsletter Editor	Steve Sterrett	Υ
Region V Director	Nancy Wardwell	Υ
Director at Large (Membership)	Dorothy Driskell	Υ
Director at Large	Paul Niswander	Υ
Director at Large	Christina Atzberger	Υ
Director at Large	David Hansen	Υ

The meeting was called to order by President Rai Goerler at 4:30 pm. Dorothy Driskell introduced guest Anne Sterling, who is a past president of IATC. The agenda was reviewed, board members shared travels since our last meeting, and no additional personals were reported.

Approval of Minutes:

Steve Sterrett moved, and Dorothy Driskell seconded the motion to approve the minutes from November 2, 2023. Motion passed unanimously.

Old Business:

Don Larson happily reported that the program for the 2024-2025 season is already completed. He thanked his committee and the fine volunteering of our members to present the programs.

New Business:

- 1. Volunteer to collect badges Don Larson will collect them this evening,
- 2. Ideas for Nominating Committee Susan Tilgner, as past president, will chair the Nominating Committee which will seek two board member positions as well as a president-elect. In addition, David Lenz requested that the Board find an assistant treasurer who could assist and succeed him as Treasurer. Steve Sterrett will put request in newsletter for nominations.

3. The IATC annual meeting will be held June 27-30, 2024, in Richmond. Registration is no longer limited to 150 people as it is the Centennial Celebration so should attract many participants. Rai is already registered. Columbus Torch Club has allocated \$1,500 to help with expenses for up to 5 attendees.

REPORTS:

<u>District V and IATC Report</u> – Nancy Wardwell sadly announced that our torch Club is longer the largest in IATC, having been surpassed by Saginaw Valley Club which has 6 more members! She mentioned good new member materials from IATC and urged us to invite new members to join us. Nancy reported that our region has been reduced by one club as the Lima group has formally disbanded but will continue as members-at-large in IATC. A suggestion was made to investigate forming a Dayton area club.

Secretary's Report

Thom Seelbach reported that there are 58 reservations for this evening and the Member's Moment honoree is bringing 5 guests. Thom asked and received Board confirmation that the speaker and the honoree can each bring one guest for free.

<u>Treasurer's Report</u>

David Lenz reported that we have 56 paid members. The Secretary submitted the roster and dues payment of \$3,510 to IATC before the December 31 deadline.

David mentioned that several clubs have filed for and received 501c3 status from the IRS. However, our current position is that the \$600 filing fee outweighs the benefits therefore, we are not seeking tax exempt status.

He reported a balance in the treasurer of \$14,852.19. The average dinner costs \$2,300 - \$2,400. He estimated that our financial status should be sufficient to meet our expected obligations. "It was our intent to reduce the surplus amount in our bank account, and we have managed that goal for the year."

Fellowship Report

Diane Selby reported that the Member's Moment honoree for this evening is Jim Bishop with his presentation by Steve Sterrett. There have been no requests for transportation for this meeting, but the need for group rides for those at First Community Village remains a concern.

<u>Membership</u>

Dorothy Driskell reported there are no new members.

Newsletter

Steve Sterrett reported that the newsletter will go out to all members as scheduled.

Website

Rai reported 35 unique visitors to the website in the last month, about the same as the previous month.

Next Board Meeting

The next meeting will be on March 7, at 4:30 pm at the Faculty Club.

The meeting was adjourned at 5:30 pm.

Diane Selby, Recording Secretary